There’s something in the water

Standard

fresh waterHave you seen the variety of bottled water in stores lately? Vitamin Water, Sport water, Coconut Water, energy water, fruit infused water….all promising to hydrate you in the healthiest way possible. Now add Dream Water and, fast acting Mini Chill water to the list of super waters with super powers. Instead of pumping you up, this new breed of water promises to calm you down. Well, I’m not surprised since all previous waters were basically energy drinks that now we need calming down.The companies who make these drinks say that they’re no different than say sleepy-time tea and much healthier than drinking alcohol before bed. As with too many supplements these days, some of the ingredients in these drinks should be consumed with caution. For example, the melatonin in Dream Water is a human hormone which should be consumed under careful physician supervision. In fact, the FDA has issued warnings about adding the hormone to drinks. Other relaxation drinks contain kava root which has been shown to be effective for treating anxiety BUT can cause liver damage ( eeek!). I don’t know how much I want my water to do other than hydrating me, y’know? I mean, do we really need to self medicate for anxiety and stress with water now? Water as medicine? Considering that we just celebrated world water day the fact that water has become so privatized in this the “free-est” of countries annoys me so I defiantly fill my water bottle at the tap, thanks. Or reach for some coconut water because hey, at least I grew up drinking that, I know where it comes from and I know it’s good for me. What do you think about private water? what are your favorites.

PLEASE SUBSCRIBE!

www.staceygrantwellness.com

2 thoughts on “There’s something in the water

  1. And on top of all that, if you buy plain old water in you local grocery store, there’s a good chance it’s not from some mountain stream, but from the tap at some bottling plant! You make some really good points. SITS sent me by, and I’m glad they did!

    The Wind in the Willows

  2. Stopping by from SITS!
    Good post! For the most part here we mainly just drink regular old tap water. I keep a gallon pitcher of it in the fridge all the time.. I do however love vitamin water and occasionally drink that (not often it is to expensive) and my favorite essential orange -orange 🙂 Yum My kids also like to have it occasionally as a treat.. But like I said before we mainly drink regular old tap water!

Leave a Reply

