Taste Test Tuesday Review: Coconut Rice

Standard

Coconut rice

Ah the post Meatless Monday pride. Do you feel it too? Yep, I’m patting myself on the back for making it through; Of course it helps to have really tasty recipes to make sure I don’t fall back into my curry chicken and rice pattern. How did it go for you meat-eaters? I know some people struggle with not eating meat or animal products just out of habit or fear of bland food. Trust me ( and the Health Department), giving your arteries and gut a rest from meat and meat by-products does wonders for health and the earth. It also gives you an opportunity to focus on getting enough fruit and vegetable into your diet. So to keep things interesting, I tried to make coconut rice. My inspiration came from  a delicious version sold at Sushi Samba Dromo in Miami. This recipe came from CheekyChicago.com’s recipe department and called for shredded coconut, almond milk, coconut milk, almonds and brown rice. ( Click here for recipe)

My Take

3 Spoons up ( out of 5)

First, let me say that my version was nowhere as pretty but that was to be expected. I also used Vanilla Almond Milk instead of unflavored which gave it a sweeter taste which was definitely unexpected but nice. I used light coconut milk and skipped the almonds because I felt it tasted rich enough without the additional calories and I used brown rice instead of white. The result is a creamy, rich tasting carb fest that is sure to make you feel juuuust a wee bit guilty. Could only eat a small portion because it was so deliciously rich which is a good thing. If you want yours to taste more like  the decadent restaurant version, don’t make the changes I did….caution!

Leave a Reply

