A reason for pumpkin pancakes (recipe too)

Standard

A crisp breeze in the air, the smell of earth and……serious carb cravings: this is Autumn for me. Nature is a beautiful thing because my body just knows that yep, cold weather is a-comin’, better gain a few el bees to get us through!! Um NO…..not gonna happen this year. I’ll give myself a couple extra but not the average 7 Americans gain EVERY holiday season. It gets harder each year to get rid of those and before you know it 7 have become 14 and so on. So I’ve got my Happy Light Lamp to stave of my annual bout of seasonal affected disorder , a condition which encourages these carb cravings. Carbohydrates are our happy energy food group: when we’re blue or tired we crave them like crazy, especially in the form of simple sweets. Not that carbs are bad. We need them! I love them! Eat them! Just make sure they’re the complex kind, the kind found in whole grains, fruit and vegetable. For example, nothing says Fall to me like pumpkins and so for my upcoming Warrior Dash race this Sunday I plan to make this delicious sounding recipe from jillfit.com

Sara’s Pumpkin Pancakes

¼ cup oats (whole grain!)
¼ cup pumpkin puree
1 scoop protein powder (vanilla would work)
1 egg white
¼ tsp cinnamon
1/8 tsp nutmeg
2-4 tbsp water
Mix first 6 ingredients in bowl. Add water 1 tbsp at a time so batter becomes mixed, but not too running. Spray and heat pan on medium to high heat. Pour in batter. Flip pancake when small bubbles start to appear or when bottom of pancake is nice and golden brown. Cook other side until golden brown as well. Splash a little sugar-free syrup and enjoy!

20120920-095840.jpg

Leave a Reply

