8 High protein substitutions that quell your craving for fats & carbs.

Standard

ImageSo there are 10 days until my competition…I know, blah, blah, blah, me-me-me…fast forward to the part where I tell you how hungry I am and BORED of chicken, tuna etc. Sometimes you just want comforting food, y’know? something warm and chewy to really bite into and make you feel satiated. Well, never fear my FabFriends, because there ARE changes you can make to increase the protein to carb ratio of your meals without losing taste. Like….

  • Yogurt: use where the recipe calls for sour cream or cheese.
  • Eggs/Egg whites: use as the moisture aka “glue” for dishes you want to be batter based but don’t want to add flour to.
  • Almond Milk: use instead of regular milk ( unsweetened for less calories)
  • Almond flourEureka! a way to bake without making carb bombs! Almond flour is just skinless almonds ground up. Use it where flour is called for and your meal will not only be delish but high in fiber AND protein.
  • Oat flourYou can make this yourself by putting oats in the blender or food processor. While not as high protein and low carb  as almond flour it is very nutritious and gives you the whole grains you need.
  • Almond butter: This is a peanut butter substitute but if you’re allergic to peanuts buy the vegan version. Almond butter is considered part of the “Paleo Diet”unlike peanut butter.  Like peanut butter, almond butter is high protein but also high FAT so beware.
  • Bananas: yep, you read right! Because bananas are starchy, they can be mashed and used in lieu of flour. Add  a couple egg whites, some almond butter and spices and voila! you’ve got a batter that is high in protein and yummy! *Bananas are a high glycemic STARCHY  food so use sparingly. 
  • Nutritional Yeast: My friend Mweia uses this to make her mac and cheese and it is delicious! My other friend Krystal makes a great Mexican “cheese sauce” out of it. Me? I sprinkle the flakes with a tsp of truffle olive oil on my popcorn. Use it where you want a nutty, cheesy flavor. 
2 thoughts on “8 High protein substitutions that quell your craving for fats & carbs.

  1. Great info! I love substituting more healthy options in traditional recipes. I also love trying to create new recipes to replace processed foods my kids and I love to snack on. You really can create a delicious and healthy alternative to most of today’s processed foods! Thanks for the tips. I found you on blogher. I am at http://www.NoSkinnies.com. Check it out sometime! Thanks!

  2. I’m extremely impressed with your writing skills as well as with the layout on your blog. Is this a paid theme or did you customize it yourself? Either way keep up the excellent quality writing, it is rare to see a nice blog like this one today.

Leave a Reply

