Homemade Almond Milk Review: Holy Moly Goodness!!

Standard
Homemade is best?

Homemade is best?

You guys, I think that my life has just changed. If you’ve been making almond milk for years then bear with me BUT if you’ve never tried to make it, Do It: TRUST ME. After I soaked my almonds overnight, the whole process took approximately 10 mins from start to clean up. I think it will be even faster the next time since I will know exactly what to expect. So here are some pointers so that it will be easy for you.

  • Use 3-3.5 times as much water as almonds because your yield will be much smaller than that. I used 4 cups but only got 2 cups (16 ounces) out of it (see below).
  • Use a paper towel over the strainer. I only used a paper towel over the 2nd batch after realizing that I could squeeze more milk out that way. 
  • This 1st batch is unsweetened with a pinch of sea-salt (literally) and3 tsp vanilla extract because I want to use my milk for more than sweet recipes.

The result is really creamy with good mouth weight and a very  slight nutty flavor. I just made a cappuccino with it and WOW, it was the best I’ve ever had! Now the mad scientist in me is soaking the rest of my cashews and almonds to make another batch tonight.  

 

 

Leave a Reply

